Character Trait: Integrity | Book Suggestions - SLO Classical Academy
Inquire Visit Tour
San Luis Obispo Classical Academy San Luis Obispo Classical Academy

Welcome to Down Home, San Luis Obispo Classical Academy’s blog! We are a classical school offering several options to make our education work for families with infants through high schoolers. Our signature hybrid program, which is part-time classroom and part-time home instruction, provides an engaging education for preschool through middle school (with full time options available). We also have a university model high school. This blog is meant to support and encourage on the home front because, in so many ways, the heart of what happens at SLO Classical Academy happens down home.

Semper discentes—always learning together.
Subscribe to Down Home:

Character Trait: Integrity | Book Suggestions

With less than two full weeks until Thanksgiving break, we are now in the season where time flies for adults but often creeps for kids as they await the exciting holidays ahead. Holiday breaks are an excellent time to start stocking up on books to read during those less structured days. We have a few suggestions for you. These books are chosen specifically with our November character trait, integrity, in mind. Happy Reading!*

*A reminder to parents. You know your children best. Please review the content for them first.

The Boy Who Cried Wolf  by B.G. Hennessy, illustrated by Boris Kulikov

A bored and lonely shepherd boy has an idea of how to make something happen. He shouts that a wolf is after his sheep, and all the town comes running to help. A retelling of the timeless fable, with clever illustrations. For ages 3 and up.

Say Something by Peter Reynolds

“The world needs your voice. If you have a brilliant idea… say something! If you see an injustice… say something!”

This beautifully illustrated book teaches kids how to stand up and say something when they see injustice or unkindness. Perfect for all ages, the book encourages all of us, each and every day, to have the chance to say something: with our actions, our words, and our voices.  (Ages 3 and up)

One by Kathryn Otoshi

Blue is quiet and likes looking at the sky. The other colors have their own characteristics: Orange is outgoing; Green is bright; Purple is regal. Red, though, is a hothead and likes to tease Blue: “Red is hot. Blue is not.” When no one speaks up against the teasing, things get out of hand — until One comes along and shows all the colors how to stand up, stand together, and to be counted.  (Ages 3 and up).

Hiawatha and the Peacemaker by Robbie Robertson, illustrated by David Shanon

Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator David Shannon brings the journey of Hiawatha and the Peacemaker to life with captivating oil paintings. The book follows the life of Hiawatha, a strong and articulate Mohawk, who was chosen to translate the Peacemaker’s message of unity for the five warring Iroquois nations during the 14th century. This message ended up uniting the tribes but also forever changed how the Iroquois governed themselves.  The Iroquois nations eventually inspired the authors of the U.S. Constitution as a blueprint for democracy. (Ages 4 and up)

Sofia Valdez, Future Prez by Andrea Beaty, illustrated by David Roberts

Every morning, Abuelo walks Sofia to school until one day, when Abuelo hurts his ankle at a local garbage dump. Sofia wonders what she can do about the dangerous Mount Trashmore. Then she gets an idea—the town can turn the mess into a park! She plans and finally works up the courage to go to City Hall—only to be told that she can’t build a park because she’s just a kid! Sofia decides that is not right and decides to stand up for what she believes in. (Ages 5 and up)

A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon

Camilla Cream loves lima beans, but she never eats them because the other kids in her school don’t like them. Camilla stops eating them because she is very, very worried about what other people think of her. In fact, she’s so worried that she’s about to break out in a bad case of stripes! (Ages 5 and up)

Brave Girl:  Clara and the Shirtwaist Maker’s Strike of 1909 by Michelle Markel, illustrated by Melissa Sweet

A true story of Clara Lemlich, a Ukrainian immigrant who went on to lead the biggest women’s labor strike in U.S. history. After arriving in America, Clara went to night school to learn English and helped support her family by sewing in a factory.  She soon began speaking out about the poor working conditions and low pay she and thousands of women endured.  This picture book beautifully teaches what it means to stand up for what you believe in and that everyone deserves a fair chance. (Ages 5 and up)

Warrior Cats: Into the Wild by Erin Hunter

This very popular series teaches a lot about honesty, courage, and what it means to do what is right.  The book follows four different cat Clans, who have shared the forest for generations according to a certain set of laws. But then the ThunderClan finds themselves in grave danger when the warrior code is threatened. As the evil ShadowClan grows stronger every day, noble warriors begin dying in mysterious ways. In the midst of all this appears an ordinary house cat named Rusty, who turns into the bravest warrior of them all. (Ages 8 and up)

The Faithful Spy by John Hendrix

A nonfiction book about the life of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, a German Lutheran pastor during World War II.  Dietrich formed a breakaway church and began speaking out against the Nazi party.  Struggling with how his faith interacted with his ethics, Bonhoeffer eventually became convinced that Hitler and the Nazi Party needed to be stopped–and he was willing to sacrifice anything and everything to do so.  (Ages 11 and up)

March by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell

A series of three graphic novels covering the late Congressman John Lewis’ life through the civil rights movement.   His commitment to justice and nonviolence took him from an Alabama sharecropper’s farm to the halls of Congress, from a segregated schoolroom to the 1963 March on Washington, and from receiving beatings from state troopers to receiving the Medal of Freedom from the first African-American president. (Ages 14 and up)

This is a variety of books that have been specifically selected for the example set by the characters and/or the lessons they learn about the importance of integrity. For those of you with older kids, don’t forget that they not only still benefit from being read aloud to, but they can enjoy and learn from a good picture book as well.

Pick up a few of these titles at our library, or off your shelf and allow the stories to inspire discussions about what it means to be a person of integrity.

Happy Reading!*

*A reminder to parents. You know your children best, so please review the content for them first.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *